Easter weekend!!

Arriving home in Peterborough from Leeds on the Wednesday before Easter gave me plenty of time to get prepared for the celebrations which went on that weekend so i’ll be taking you through what I did to celebrate this great time of year! I love Easter as I love the treats and colours which are associated with this festive period. It is a completly different flavour palette and colour scheme to Christmas and Valentine’s day which have been the most recent past festive times.

eggs

The Easter weekend preparations commenced on…..

Fri-YAY!!

Friday started off as a late one! I eventually surfaced around 10.30 when I had to take my Dad over to his friends so go join my Mum and her friends and hubbies for her birthday weekend away, so I decided that while I was out I would buy some things to make myself an easter cake for the family to enjoy! Th recipe was very easy to follow and quick and easy to prepare & then just bang it in the oven for 1 hour and it was done! It was a simple chocolate cake decorated to look like a bird’s nest! It turned out so well and couldn’t wait to share it with my family and friends. I made the actual cae on the Friday, but decorated it on Saturday with my sister, as she was working late on the Friday and I wanted to decorate it with her! I have put the recipe which I used just a little further down, so carry on reading!!

My OOTD was very basic for Friday and it was actually so cosy. The weather on Friday was OOTD.pngso lovely and put me in such a good mood! However as always, I decided that most of my utfit would be black.. ofcourse!! My shirt is from Hollister a few months ago however there is one very similar in stock currenty on sale now! Check out out here. it is so comfy and cosy I love wearing it. The cami is just a simple black tank top which you can find anywhere and finally my jeans are just plain black skinnies and they are also the ones I mentioned in my “10 Wardrobe Basics” post here which are from Calvin Klein, and you can find those on their website here. I just had a simple owl pendant too, I bought this from eBay years ago and love it, it is just so simple. Find some like it here! And finally I just wore all of this with a pair of casual, very grubby, white Converse on my feet!!

Chocolate Easter nest cake!

Ingredients

For the cake:cake.png

  • 100g Unsalted butter
  • 275g Unrefined muscovado sugar 
  • 2 Eggs
  • 175g Plain flour
  • 1tsp Baking Powder
  • 1tsp Bicarbonate of soda
  • 200ml Whole milk (Blue top)
  • 50g Cocoa powder

For the icing:

  • 25g Cocoa powder
  • 3tbsp Boiling water
  • 4 Cadbury’s flakes
  • A pack of Mini eggs
  • A pack of Galaxy golden coated eggs
  • 300g Icing sugar
  • 175g Unsalted butter

Method!

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180°C, 170°C for a fan oven or gas mark 4!
  2. Grease and line a 20cm/8″ deep cake baking tin
  3. Cream the butter and sugar together until soft then beat in the eggs.
  4. Sift the flour, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda into a bowl and set aside for later use
  5. Mix the milk and cocoa powder fo the cake together until nicely combined and lump free. I found it easiest to do this with a fork.
  6. Fold flour and cocoa mixture alternately into the butter mixture until well combined.
  7. Spoon into a the prepared tin and bake for about 1 hour until cooked through.(You can test if it is full cooed by sticin a knife or cocktail stick in the middle and seeing if it comes out clean. If it is cakey, put it in for a little longer and keep an eye on it).
  8. Cool slightly in the tin, then turn out and cool on a wire rack.
  9. To make the buttercream, first you must mix the cocoa powder with the boiling water to make a paste.
  10. Cream the butter to soften it then beat in the icing sugar, beating really well (an electric mixer is ideal, but just be careful when using this as icing dugar ay get everywhere! Start off by covring the mxing bowl with a tea towel until comined enough) until light. Stir in the cooled cocoa.
  11. Split the cake in half and sandwich with about a third of the buttercream.
  12. Spread the remaining buttercream over the top and sides of the cake, making a hollow ‘nest’ in the centre.
  13. Crumble the chocolate flake bars and press lightly into the buttercream. Fill the hollow with chocolate eggs.

The reason I used mini eggs AND golden eggs is bcause I couldnt find mini eggs anywhere! So I thought I would just use the golden ones instead, but as soon as I send my sister out to find some, she finds them!! Typical! So feel free to use one, or the other!

It is a very easy recipe to follow and I love how you can use this cake mixture recipe, but use it for any occasion as you do not need to decorate t in this nest formation! The taste and texture of the cake is actually so yummy! I asked my Mum what she though and said she though I used a packet mix.. Not today Ma! I actually baked a cake from scratch.. for once!! So I was actually quite chuffed with myself as I usually use a packet.. Shhh, don’t tell anyone!!

Saturday!!

Saturday was a lovely day! I got up at around 10 and me and my sister got straight into icing the cake after a hot cross bun for breakfast! I had already made the icing the previous day and crumbled up the flakes so it was just a case of cutting the cake in 2 and icing away! The overall decoration took around 10 minuets! And it looked so yummy after we had finished.

  In the afternoon I had made plans to go around to my friends for movie and munchie time where we watched Magic Mike XXL and ate Doritos and dip! I love those kinds of afternoons as I live away I do not got to see my friends as much as I would like to, so its always lovely when we get to sit down and catch up like this, especially as she has a newly 1 year old who just seems to grow up more and more every time I visit! Even managed to catch him taking a few steps on his own! Not long until he will be running around creating havock!! Obviously Freddie thought me and Emma had enough of Magic Mike so he decided to change the TV channel for us! Cheeky monkey, but with his angelic sweet face, you just cant help but be okay with it! I took round some of the cake which I had make for Emma, and on the way there I just had to make sure it survived the journey by buckeling it up in the passenger side of my car!!

After I had finished up at Emma’s and the horrific weather had calmed down I drove home to a home cooked Thai green chicken curry.. one of my all time faves! (Which I may or may not have eaten on Friday too.. Just not completly home made.. shhh!) I love the fact that my Dad is actually an amazing chef when it comes to cooking curries, he never fails to disappoint!!

Sunday!!

As the clocks went forward I woke up VERY confusd as to why I was so tired when I rose at 9am like I usually do! When I realised that it was technically 8am, I went straight back to sleep!! Later I woke up to the scrummy smell of bacon sandwiches..!!! So that was a great start to the day!

My OOTD was fairly casual, I wore a top from Zara which I bought a few years ago in Cambridge, Denim skirt which I bought from eBay which I love and wear with so much! Just with a pair of plain tights in black and around my neck I wore a black necklace with gold detailing on which is from Charlotte Rousse. My other bling is just my every day stuff, a Pandora bangle wth one simple bow charm, pandora bracelet with an assortment of charms, Fossil rose gold watch, Pandora birth stone earrings in red and an assortmnt of Pandora rings! On my face I simply did my normal makeup which is simple and plain with a little colour and shade around my eyes, with a slight sculpt to my face with a light contour. I styled my hair with GHD pencil straighteners into a small curl and finished it off with a firm hold hair spray. Before I curled my hair, last night I washed my hair with my Lush shampoo bar Honey I Washed My Hair, which you can read a review I wrote about here, and then straight before I applied any heat I used my Toni and Guy heat protect spray which I inclused in my March Miricals blog post here. *ADD IN LINK*

Later my parents gave me my Easter chocolate gifts which I was very excited for and couldnt wait to start! They gave me original Lindt Londor and also the limited edition strawberries & cream ones which I couldn’t wait to tuck in to!! For some reason I love strawberries and cream flavours, they are so refrshing a light to the taste! As well as this I also recieved mini eggs and a chocolate bunny!! Just to simarise… YUM YUM!!

I finised off the afternoon with a lovly roast dinner wwith pork and all of the trimmings to make it am absolutely amazing dinner! Perfect for Easter weekend! With the roast me and my family also cracked open a bottle of Champagne to celebrate Easter too, which was so lovely and afterwards I have to say I may have indulged in some of my Easter treats!!

Hope you enjoyed hearing all about my Easter weekend which I enjoyed a lot! I love being at home and celebrating with my family and seeing my friends It fills me with such joy and happiness!

cropped-heart-2.png

Thanks and see you soon!!

lifeaccordingtobet xx

Leave a Reply

